客戶感言

客戶感言

我們的客戶

與感言

Valo Health 88945793
MKGAA768x432
拜耳標誌
Endocyte NovartisCo
下載 1
catenion
以色列創新管理局標誌
特拉維夫大學標誌.svg
Verastem Oncology 官方公司標誌
1603712490費森尤斯Facebook標誌
圖像
住友大日本製藥.svg
Grunenthal 淺綠色CMYK 300dpi
奧托博克藍OG後備16 9預告片單列視網膜
1200px 德爾格.svg
指數
2560px Boehringer Ingelheim 標誌.svg
下載 1
1200px 靈北標誌.svg
2000px GlaxoSmithKline 標誌.svg
Valo Health 88945793
「Catenion是傑出的合作夥伴。他們深刻理解客戶的需求,抱著至高的專業精神與我們密切合作,堅定不移地專注於關鍵結果。他們擁有科學而嚴謹的一流洞察力。」

David Berry

Valo Health / Flagship Pioneering

首席執行官/普通合夥人

MKGAA768x432
「在處理與研發相關的戰略主題方面,Catenion是我的首選合作夥伴。他們提供獨特的觀點和框架,他們在科學與技術方面的深厚根基使他們從眾多諮詢公司中脫穎而出。」

Stefan Oschmann博士

默克集團 (Merck KGaA)

首席執行官

拜耳標誌
「在擔任拜耳醫藥公司的首席執行官期間,我所面臨的最艱難的決策之一即是在拜斯亭(Lipobay)退出市場後如何重新調整我們探索活動戰略。Catenion利用其專有工具、基准和循證的嚴謹方法,指導我們的探索管理團隊完成了對治療領域和項目優先排序的艱難過程,並爲拜耳公司董事會的決策提供了重要支援。」

Wolfgang Plischke博士

拜耳醫藥公司(Bayer Pharma)

首席執行官

Endocyte NovartisCo
「Catenion能夠從各個方面識別並解決我們在評估專案價值鏈中遇到的基本問題。他們對科學、監管環境、製造挑戰、競爭動態和商業潛力的獨特洞察為我們提供了有關風險和機遇的客觀理解。」

Mike Sherman

Endocyte

首席執行官

下載 1
「我們與Catenion在戰略與投資組合相關的多個課題進行了成功的合作。他們真正做到了深入科學,並能夠將深刻的洞察轉化為實用的戰略。他們對美國生物技術領域了如指掌,在歐洲和日本也有廣泛的網絡。」

Jon P. Stonehouse

Biocryst Pharmaceuticals Inc.

董事長兼首席執行官

catenion
「我們梯瓦製藥(Teva)要求Catenion對我們的專業管線進行全面評估,以支援高階主管團隊確定未來的專業戰略。在此過程中,Catenion針對我們的研發計劃和投資組合選擇提出了許多尖銳的問題。我們的研發團隊非常欣賞Catenion的協作方法、科學深度和獨立思維。Catenion基於詳實深入的分析提出了獨具慧眼的建議,成功說服了我們的研發團隊、高階主管和董事會。值得特別注意的是,他們對大型企業決策過程中的組織動態具有非常深刻的理解,並為該專案帶來了切實可行的成果。如果你遇到了研發戰略方面的重大難題,並且需要對管道資產進行深入分析,Catenion是最好的選擇。」

Sven Dethlefs博士

梯瓦製藥(Teva Pharmaceuticals)

北美商務執行副總裁

以色列創新管理局標誌
「在長達一年的合作中,Catenion幫助我們起草了一份長期戰略和實施計劃,該文件現已成為以色列創新管理局(IIA)的官方政策,並在我們成功實施這一戰略專案的過程中發揮了至關重要的作用。我向任何有意發展培養當地生物醫學創新系統的政策制定者強烈推薦Catenion。」

Anya Eldan

以色列創新管理局(Israel Innovation Authority)

初創部門副總裁兼負責人

特拉維夫大學標誌.svg
「對於希望為其大學和醫院在全球生物醫學創新地圖上佔有一席之地的學術和政府決策者,我誠摯向他們推薦Catenion。」

Giora Yaron博士

特拉維夫大學(Tel Aviv University)

主席

Verastem Oncology 官方公司標誌
「Catenion的工作方法細緻嚴謹、非常公正。這支世界一流的團隊為我們的管理團隊提供了寶貴的洞察意見。」

Robert Forrester

Verastem Inc.

董事長兼首席執行官

1603712490費森尤斯Facebook標誌
「我非常享受與Catenion合作。他們具有對生物醫學創新與科學的深刻理解、敏銳的戰略眼光和高超的組織能力。我向學術界和產業界面臨戰略難題的所有人強烈推薦Catenion。」

Olaf Schermeier博士

費森尤斯醫療(Fresenius Medical Care),全球研發部門

首席執行官

圖像
「Catenion在一個關鍵後期開發專案中為我們提供了決定性的支持。他們採用務實、批判和創新的方法,為我們的危機管理團隊成功渡過這一難關做出了巨大的貢獻。在專案/投資組合審查期間,Catenion顧問給我留下了良好的印象,他們的建議如今也在全球專案團隊的戰術和運營層面證實了其寶貴的價值。」

Oliver Maria Wilbert博士

默克雪蘭諾股份公司(Merck Serono SA)

投資組合開發部門,免疫療法高級總監

住友大日本製藥.svg
「Catenion常年為我們提供實用建議以持續優化我們的全球化戰略——他們對生物製藥行業及其參與者和研發動態的深入了解讓我們受益匪淺。我們也非常欣賞他們在日本的強大影響力和對日本文化的深刻理解。」

原 誠(Makoto Hara)

住友製藥 (Sumitomo Dainippon Pharmaceuticals Co., Ltd.)

執行副總裁

Grunenthal 淺綠色CMYK 300dpi
「我們多次與Catenion合作,我們十分讚賞他們在合作中發揮的重要作用。他們為我們提供高效明智的解決方案。Catenion的重要作用在於,他們促使我們質疑反思業已過時的教條主義。在我曾合作過的各種規模的諮詢公司中,Catenion無疑脫穎而出。」

Eric-Paul Pâques教授博士

格蘭泰有限公司(Grünenthal GmbH)

首席執行官

奧托博克藍OG後備16 9預告片單列視網膜
「奧托博克醫療保健公司是假肢領域的全球市場領導者。創新產品的開發和行銷是我們的主要增長動力。為了優化我們的管道管理,我們決定在假肢業務部門開展投資組合管理。這為研發專案和上市產品的風險、商業潛力和戰略契合度提供了極大的透明度。在此基礎上,我們才能真正衡量我們的研發和業務處於實現我們宏大目標的哪個階段,並能夠在必要時及時做出調整。與此同時,投資組合管理也可以為我們的開發管道戰略規劃提供支持。在此過程中,Catenion充分證明他們正是我們在戰略和運營方面不可或缺的真正合作夥伴。」

Helmut Pfuhl博士 / Hans Dietl博士

奧托博克醫療保健有限公司(Otto Bock HealthCare GmbH)

執行副總裁/首席技術官

1200px 德爾格.svg
「通過對創新和風險的關鍵驅動因素的系統性審核,Catenion幫助我們將早期醫療器械和技術投資組合集中到最有前途的資產上。Catenion對我們的投資組合經理進行了方法論方面的在職培訓,並從後台給予支援,這得到了公司內部的廣泛認可。因此,我們決定採用Catenion的方法。我以不同的身份與Catenion合作多年,我始終高度評價他們的貢獻。」

Ulrich Thibaut博士

德爾格(Drägerwerk AG)

管理委員會成員(CTO)

指數
「除了強大的分析能力外,我特別欣賞Catenion的務實態度。他們不會迴避必要的說明與爭論,而是以富有建設性、參與性的態度與我們開展合作,從而將我們最初的疑慮轉化為積極的執行力,並以這種執行力實施公司所需的變革。」

Rob Koremans

賽諾菲(Aventis Sanofi)

高級副總裁/Generics 歐洲首席執行官

2560px Boehringer Ingelheim 標誌.svg
「我與Catenion合作多年,我知道他們是獨立的思考家,會使用他們高超的洞察和方法論提出行之有效的創造性解決方案。」

Bert Tjeenk Willink

勃林格殷格翰(Boehringer Ingelheim)

常務董事會成員、公司董事會行銷和銷售部主管

下載 1
「在我們專注於創造未來價值的研發工作的關鍵歷史時刻,Catenion為我們提供了大量投資組合與戰略相關專案的支持。他們引入了嚴謹、前沿的方法和流程,但最重要的是,他們了解我們作為一家快節奏生物技術公司的需求和要求。我非常重視他們提出的獨立見解,這些見解挑戰了我們高級團隊的固有思維,並引導我們最終制定出成功的投資組合戰略。」

David S. McCullough

BioCryst Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

戰略規劃、商業化和企業發展副總裁

1200px 靈北標誌.svg
「我們在研發組合管理和戰略支援方面與Catenion的合作收效頗豐。Catenion對製藥研發的深入理解和敏銳分析使他們具有獨一無二的價值。我們的合作極具效率、價值與建設性。」

Claus Braestrup博士

灵北制药(H. Lundbeck A/S)

董事長兼首席執行官

2000px GlaxoSmithKline 標誌.svg
「在與Catenion合作為GSK制定自訂醫療戰略的過程中,他們的兼容並蓄最令我刮目相看。這包括對科學(生物標誌物、藥理學、診斷學、臨床試驗設計、建模工具等)和研發過程的深入理解、對研發的全面戰略視野,以及他們為研發和商業目的精心設計的優質風險評估工具。在Catenion的協助下,我對自訂醫療戰略的關鍵機遇和真實挑戰有了更確切的認識。Catenion優秀、穩健的工作方式既有靈光閃現的創意,又有基於數據和事實收集的嚴謹,實現了兩者之間的完美平衡。最後,Catenion對組織的準確評估構成了獨特的洞察,有助於確定將新的研發方法轉化為收益的途徑。」

Dominique Limet博士

葛兰素史克(Glaxo SmithKline)

高級副總裁兼自訂醫療戰略主管

注:這些都是曾與Catenion合作的公司或其附屬機構。
Catenion Arno Heuermann 2

Arno Heuermann

Arno Heuermann是Catenion的創始合夥人,現居德國柏林。Arno擁有十年的首席執行官和首席運營官經驗。他曾在德國、法國和盧森堡管理多家公司。

在攻讀學位期間,Arno於1994年成立了一家技術工程辦公室。1998年,他繼續他的創業之路,創立了一家專注於農業的DNA診斷公司——Biopsytec GmbH,並在該公司擔任董事總經理超過五年。

1999年,他參與創立了一家專注於DNA甲基化的上市生物技術公司——Epigenomics AG,後來繼續擔任該公司的顧問和公司監事會成員。

2000年8月,Arno精心策劃了Biopsytec控股集團的成立和融資,合併了Genious SA和QTL AG和Biopsytec GmbH。在接下來的三年裡,他負責管理Biopsytec控股集團,然後在2003年幫助推出了Catenion。從那時起,他一直擔任Catenion的首席運營官。

Arno擁有柏林應用科學技術大學的工藝工程文憑學位。此外,Arno還就曾就讀於柏林工業工程與管理商學院。

他在專利管理的各種實踐方面經驗豐富,並創造了許多成功的發明。

Arno Heuermann已經結婚,有兩個孩子。他熱愛古典音樂、鄉村生活和騎馬。

Catenion Matthias Krings

Matthias Krings博士

Matthias Krings是Catenion的創始合夥人。

他曾在國際製藥、生物技術和醫療技術組織工作,研究各種主題。Matthias與客戶合作制定企業和研發戰略,確定新的機會領域,定製BD&L和M&A的資產和公司搜尋,透過治療擴張最大限度增加現有資產的價值並優先考慮研發投資組合。Matthias還負責在Catenion學院制定和提供自訂的客戶學習計劃。

在2003年共同創立Catenion之前,Matthias曾在美世管理諮詢公司(現奧緯咨詢公司)擔任顧問,後來加入了精品戰略諮詢公司Theron。

Matthias擁有路德維希-馬克西米利安-慕尼克大學的生物學文憑和博士學位。他的博士工獲得了Boehringer Ingelheim基金會的獎學金支援。Matthias在人類進化領域做出了重大的科學貢獻(Krings 等人, Cell 1997 : Neandertal DNA Sequences and the Origin of Modern Humans)。

Matthias住在慕尼克和柏林。他喜歡烹飪、園藝、水上運動和旅行。

Matthias與人合著了Catenion的評論文章《制勝研發戰略的要素》和《重組投資組合管理——識別和實現創新》。這些內容都屬於Catenion的「塑造製藥戰略」系列,專注於業內備受矚目的各類問題。

Catenion Christian Elze

Christian Elze

Christian Elze 是 Catenion 的創始合夥人,自 2008 年以來一直在日本發展公司業務。他擁有倫敦政治經濟學院的學士學位和哥倫比亞大學的工商管理碩士學位。

自 2024 年 1 月起,Christian 將轉任名譽高級合夥人; 在繼續照顧選定的客戶和項目的同時,他正在減少在公司工作的時間; 他已接受米蘭 Recordati 科學顧問委員會成員和特拉維夫 Pangea Biomed 董事會觀察員的職位。

Christian 在生物醫學創新領域與公司、大學和政府開展合作。在他的工作中,Christian專注於新興技術和轉化研究如何重塑資助機構、投資者、生物製藥公司和學術界在新藥研發中的角色。

除了諮詢工作外,Christian還經常在日本、美國和歐洲的行業會議和大學談論新興技術、醫療改革、定價與補償、生物醫學創新以及轉化研究。

克利斯蒂安能說流利的英語、法語、德語、義大利語、葡萄牙語、俄語和西班牙文,他經常在倫敦和巴西的上帕拉伊索德戈亞斯之間工作

Catenion Markus Thunecke 壓縮

Markus Thunecke博士

Markus撰寫了多篇Catenion評論文章,包括《企業投資組合戰略的風險概況》和《制勝研發戰略的要素》、《重組創新管理(RIM)——如何刺激大型研發組織內的突破性創新》、《重組投資組合管理——識別和實現創新》。他還與人合著了《零基礎研發》(Zero Base R&D)和《前20名日本製藥企業所面臨的挑戰(The Challenge for Japan's Pharmaceutical Top Twenty)》。這些內容都屬於Catenion的「塑造製藥戰略」系列,專注於業內備受矚目的各類問題。

Markus Thunecke 是Catenion的高級創始夥伴,現居德國柏林。Markus於1997年在美世管理諮詢公司開始了他的諮詢職業生涯,之後加入了精品戰略諮詢公司Theron,並於2003年成立了Catenion。

Markus已幫助眾多來自全球製藥和醫療產品行業的客戶取得了競爭優勢。除了戰略工作外,Markus還擅長開發領先的分析工具,並結合組織的發展能力。Markus還參與開發Catenion許多用於投資組合管理和風險評估的專利工具。在最近的專案中,Markus幫助客戶制定和調整其研發戰略,審查其發現和發展組合,並製作促進創新的組織模型。

Markus經常在研發戰略和投資組合管理會議上發表演講。

他擁有海德堡大學的生物化學博士學位,並在學校裡建立了阿爾茨海默病的轉基因動物模型。他還在先靈集團積累了三年的CNS領域研究經驗。

Client Testimonials

Client Testimonials

Our Clients

& Testimonials

valo health 88945793
Mkgaa768x432
Logo Bayer
Endocyte NovartisCo
download 1
catenion
Israel Innovation Authority logo
Tel Aviv university logo.svg
Verastem Oncology official company logo
1603712490Fresenius Facebook Logo
images
Sumitomo Dainippon Pharma.svg
Grunenthal LightGreen CMYK 300dpi
ottobock blue og fallback 16 9 teaser onecolumn retina
1200px Drägerwerk.svg
index
2560px Boehringer Ingelheim Logo.svg
download 1
1200px Lundbeck Logo.svg
2000px GlaxoSmithKline Logo.svg
valo health 88945793
“Catenion is an outstanding partner. They deeply understand the needs of a client, work closely with the utmost professionalism and focus on key outcomes, with unwavering focus. Their insights are top notch across the board with true scientific rigor.”

David Berry

Valo Health / Flagship Pioneering

CEO / General Partner

Mkgaa768x432
“When dealing with strategic topics related to R&D, Catenion is my partner of choice. They bring unique perspectives and frameworks, and their deep rooting in science and technology clearly differentiates them from other consulting firms that I know.”

Dr. Stefan Oschmann

Merck KGaA

CEO

Logo Bayer
“One of the toughest decisions I had to take in my role as CEO of Bayer Pharma was to refocus our Discovery activities after the market withdrawal of Lipobay. Using their proprietary tools, benchmarks and a tough, fact–based approach, Catenion guided the Discovery management team through a difficult process of prioritisation of therapeutic areas and projects and provided crucial support for the decision making of the Bayer Corporate Board.”

Dr. Wolfgang Plischke

Bayer Pharma

CEO

Endocyte NovartisCo
“Catenion was able to identify and address the fundamental questions across every aspect of the value chain for each of the programs we assessed. Their insight into the science, regulatory landscape, manufacturing challenges, competitive dynamics, and commercial potential provided an objective understanding of the risks and opportunities.”

Mike Sherman

Endocyte

CEO

download 1
“We have successfully worked with Catenion on various strategic- and portfolio related- topics. They really go deep into the science and are able to translate insights into effective strategies. They are fully at home in the world of US biotech and have an extensive network in Europe and Japan.”

Jon P. Stonehouse

Biocryst Pharmaceuticals Inc.

President and CEO

catenion
“Teva Pharmaceuticals asked Catenion to do a comprehensive assessment of our specialty pipeline supporting the executive team to define the future specialty strategy. Catenion was not shy of asking tough questions related to our R&D programs and portfolio selection. Our R&D organization highly appreciated their collaborative approach, scientific depth and independent mindset. Catenion convinced our R&D and executive teams, as well as the Board with independent recommendations based on real analytical depth. Crucially, their understanding of the organizational dynamics of decision-making in large organizations resulted in actionable results out of this project. I would recommend them to anybody who has challenging R&D strategy-related topics and requires an in-depth analysis of pipeline assets.”

Dr. Sven Dethlefs

Teva Pharmaceuticals

Executive Vice President, North America Commercial

Israel Innovation Authority logo
“In a year-long effort, Catenion helped us draft a long-term strategy and implementation plan, which has now become official policy of the IIA; they were crucial to the success of our strategy project and I strongly recommend them to any policy-makers intent on strengthening their local biomedical innovation systems.”

Anya Eldan

Israel Innovation Authority

VP, Head of Start-up Division

Tel Aviv university logo.svg
“I would wholeheartedly recommend Catenion to academic and governmental decision-makers wishing to get their universities and hospitals on the global map of biomedical innovation.”

Dr. Giora Yaron

Tel Aviv University

Chairman

Verastem Oncology official company logo
“We found Catenion’s approach to be scientifically rigorous, and unbiased. Their team was world class, and provided invaluable insight to our management team.”

Robert Forrester

Verastem Inc.

President and CEO

1603712490Fresenius Facebook Logo
“I very much enjoy working with Catenion who combine a deep understanding of biomedical innovation and scientific understanding with strategic acumen and organizational savvy and I strongly recommend them to anybody with challenging strategic questions at the interface between academia and industry.”

Dr. Olaf Schermeier

Global Research & Development, Fresenius Medical Care

CEO

images
“Catenion supported us in a very critical situation with a key late stage development project. Due to their pragmatic, critical and entrepreneurial approach, they largely contributed to the success of the crisis management team. My very positive experiences with the Catenion consultants during project/portfolio reviews have now also been confirmed at a tactical and operational level within a global project team.”

Dr. Oliver Maria Wilbert

Merck Serono SA

Senior Director Immunotherapies, Portfolio Development

Sumitomo Dainippon Pharma.svg
“Catenion have repeatedly supported our globalization strategy with practical advice – their in-depth understanding of the bio-pharmaceutical industry, its players and the R&D dynamic have been extremely helpful for us. We also appreciate their strong presence in Japan and understanding of Japanese culture.”

Makoto Hara

Sumitomo Dainippon Pharmaceuticals Co., Ltd.

Executive Vice President

Grunenthal LightGreen CMYK 300dpi
“We have been working several times with Catenion and have always been extremely satisfied by the quality of the contribution which helped us to find robust and smart answers to the questions we worked on together. Catenion has been very instrumental by forcing the organization to question the current dogma. Catenion clearly stands out among the small and big consulting companies I have worked with.”

Prof. Dr. Eric-Paul Pâques

Grünenthal GmbH

CEO

ottobock blue og fallback 16 9 teaser onecolumn retina
“Ottobock HealthCare is the world market leader in prosthetics. Our major growth driver is the development and marketing of new and innovative products. With the intention to optimize our pipeline management we decided to implement portfolio management in our Prosthetics Business Unit. This has established great transparency regarding risk, commercial potential and strategic fit of R&D projects and marketed products. On that basis we are able to truly measure where we stand in R&D and in commercial terms versus our ambitious goals and are able to make timely adjustments, where required. Simultaneously portfolio management also supports our strategic planning of the development pipeline. During this entire journey, Catenion proved to be a true partner on strategic and operative levels for us and our teams.”

Dr. Helmut Pfuhl / Dr. Hans Dietl

Otto Bock HealthCare GmbH

Executive Vice President / Chief Technology Officer

1200px Drägerwerk.svg
“With their systematic review of the key drivers of innovation and risk, Catenion has helped us focus our early stage medical devices and technology portfolios on the most promising assets. Their approach of on–the–job training our portfolio managers in the methodology and staying in the background led to great acceptance in the organization. As a result, we have decided to implement their approach. I have worked with Catenion for many years and in various roles and have always highly valued their contribution.”

Dr. Ulrich Thibaut

Drägerwerk AG

Member of the Board of Management (CTO)

index
“Apart from their strong analytics, what I particularly appreciated was the pragmatic approach of the Catenion team. Without eschewing clarity and conflict where necessary, they involved the organization with a constructive, participatory spirit, thus turning initial apprehension into positive energy for implementation that we could harness for the change the company needed.”

Rob Koremans

Aventis Sanofi

Senior Vice President / CEO Generics Europe

2560px Boehringer Ingelheim Logo.svg
“Over the years, I have come to know Catenion as independent thinkers who use their insights and methodological sophistication to come up with creative solutions that work.”

Bert Tjeenk Willink

Boehringer Ingelheim

Member of the Board of Managing Directors, Head of Corporate Board Division Marketing and Sales

download 1
“Catenion has supported us on a number of portfolio and strategy related projects at a critical time in the company’s history as we focus our R&D efforts on creating future value. They bring very disciplined and cutting–edge methods and processes, but most importantly they understand our needs and requirements as a fast–paced biotech company. I really value their independent point of view, which has been instrumental in challenging and guiding our senior team in coming up with a winning portfolio strategy.”

David S. McCullough

BioCryst Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Vice President, Strategic Planning, Commercialization & Corporate Development

1200px Lundbeck Logo.svg
“We have successfully used Catenion for R&D portfolio management and strategy support. Catenion’s in–depth understanding of pharmaceutical R&D and their sharp analytical approach clearly differentiates them. Our collaboration has been efficient, valuable and constructive.”

Dr. Claus Braestrup

H. Lundbeck A/S

President and CEO

2000px GlaxoSmithKline Logo.svg
“What I particularly appreciated in working with Catenion on the Personalised Medicine strategy for GSK is the rare combination of an in–depth understanding of the science (biomarkers, pharmacology, diagnostics, clinical trial designs, modelling tools..), the R&D processes, their very thorough strategic vision for R&D as well as the quality of their well articulated risk assessment tools both for R&D and commercial purposes. Through them I was able to develop a better vision of the key opportunities but also the real challenges of a Personalised Medicine Strategy. Their approach is robust and well qualified – it embeds the right balance of inspiration and pragmatism associated with a high level of discipline in collecting data and facts. Last but not least their sound assessment of organisations contributes to their remarkable sense of how to achieve the transformational benefit of new R&D approaches.”

Dr. Dominique Limet

Glaxo SmithKline

SVP & Head of Personalised Medicine Strategy

Note: Affiliations at the time of the collaboration with Catenion.
Catenion Arno Heuermann 2

Arno Heuermann

Arno Heuermann is a founding Partner of Catenion who lives in Berlin, Germany. Arno has ten years of experience as CEO and COO. He has managed companies in Germany, France and Luxemburg.

While working on his degrees, Arno founded a technical engineering office in 1994. He continued to follow the entrepreneurial path in 1998 by founding Biopsytec GmbH, a DNA diagnostics company focused on agriculture, heading the company for more than five years as Managing Director.

In 1999, he co–founded Epigenomics AG, a public biotech company focused on DNA methylation, later remaining as an advisor and member of the firm’s Supervisory Board.

In August 2000, Arno orchestrated the founding and financing of Biopsytec Holding AG, thus merging Genious SA and the QTL AG and Biopsytec GmbH. He managed Biopsytec Holding AG for the next three years before helping launch Catenion in 2003. Since that time, he has been Catenion’s chief operating officer.

Arno holds a diploma degree in process engineering from the Technical University of Applied Sciences in Berlin. In addition, Arno attended the Berlin business school for Industrial Engineering and Management.

He is experienced in the diverse practices of patent management and has made numerous successful inventions.

Arno Heuermann is married and has two children. He is a lover of classical music, country life and horseback riding.

Catenion Matthias Krings

Dr. Matthias Krings

Matthias Krings is a founding Partner of Catenion.

He has worked for international pharma, biotech and medtech organizations on a variety of topics. Matthias works with clients on developing corporate and R&D strategies, identifying new areas of opportunity, tailoring asset and company searches for BD&L and M&A, maximizing the value of existing assets through therapeutic expansion, and prioritizing R&D portfolios. Matthias is also responsible for the creation and delivery of bespoke client education programs in the Catenion Academy.

Before co-founding Catenion in 2003, Matthias was a consultant at Mercer Management Consulting (now Oliver Wyman) and later joined a strategy consulting boutique, Theron.

Matthias holds a diploma and a doctorate degree in Biology from the Ludwig-Maximilians University in Munich. His PhD work was supported by a scholarship from the Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds, Foundation for Basic Research in Medicine. Matthias made significant scientific contributions to the field of human evolution, published in Krings et al., Cell 1997: Neandertal DNA Sequences and the Origin of Modern Humans. His PhD supervisor Svante Pääbo was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2022 “for his discoveries concerning the genomes of extinct hominins and human evolution”.

Matthias lives in Munich. He enjoys cooking, gardening, water sports and traveling.

Catenion Christian Elze

Christian Elze

Christian Elze is a founding partner of Catenion and has been developing the company’s business in Japan since 2008. He holds a BSc from the London School of Economics and an MBA from Columbia University.

As of January 2024, Christian is moving to a role of Senior Partner Emeritus; while continuing to look after selected clients and projects, he is reducing his time spent with the company; he has accepted positions as a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of Recordati in Milan and a Board Observer of Pangea Biomed in Tel Aviv.

Christian is working with companies, universities and governments in the field of biomedical innovation. In his work, Christian is focusing on how emerging technologies and translational research are re-shaping the respective roles of funding agencies, investors, biopharma companies and academia in the research and development of new drugs.

Besides his consulting work, Christian frequently speaks about Emerging Technologies, Healthcare Reform, Pricing & Reimbursement,  Biomedical Innovation, as well as Translational Research at industry conferences and universities in Japan, the US and Europe.

Christian is a fluent speaker of English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish and divides his time between London and Alto Paraiso de Goias in Brazil.

Catenion Markus Thunecke compressed

Dr. Markus Thunecke

Markus has written several Catenion Commentaries including “Risk Profiles of Corporate Portfolio Strategies” as well as “Elements of Winning Strategies in R&D”, “Recombinant Innovation Management (RIM) – How to Stimulate Breakthrough Innovation within Large R&D Organisations”, “Recombinant Portfolio Management – Recognising and Enabling Innovation”. He also co–authored “Zero Base R&D” and “The Challenge for Japan’s Pharmaceutical Top Twenty”. All of them are part of Catenion’s “Shaping Pharmaceutical Strategy” series that focuses on high-profile issues for the industry.

Markus Thunecke is a founding Senior Partner of Catenion who lives in Berlin, Germany. Markus started his consulting career in 1997 at Mercer Management Consulting before joining a strategy consulting boutique, Theron, and setting up Catenion in 2003.

Markus has helped numerous clients around the globe in the pharmaceutical and medical products industries create competitive advantage. In addition to his work on strategy, Markus specialises in developing leading–edge analytical tools and combining them with organisational development capabilities. Markus is the developer of a number of Catenion’s proprietary tools for portfolio management and risk assessment. In recent engagements, Markus has helped clients develop and realign their R&D strategies, review their discovery and development portfolios, and create organisational models that foster innovation.

Markus is a frequent speaker at conferences on R&D strategy and portfolio management.

He holds a PhD in biochemistry from the University of Heidelberg, where he generated transgenic animal models for Alzheimer’s disease. He also has three years of research experience within the CNS field at Schering AG.