關於我們

關於我們

Catenion是一家管理諮詢公司,致力於幫助製藥和醫療產品公司實現更具創新、更具實效的戰略和組織。

我們憑藉對行業趨勢和公司動態的深刻理解,幫助客戶制定切實可行的競爭戰略。我們還透過幫助客戶創造促進創新與醫學突破的組織氛圍,消除製藥創新中的文化障礙。同時,我們也大大改善了客戶評估其專案和產品組合的價值和風險以及分配資源的方式。

我們與董事會董事、首席執行官、業務單位總經理以及研發、財務、戰略、投資組合管理、業務發展的負責人和其他希望提高組織績效的高管開展合作。而這離不開我們的三個與眾不同之處:

科學驅動的戰略

我們專注於科學驅動的戰略:我們透過生命科學博士團隊開展全面多維評估來回答關鍵問題。

經驗與人脈

我們在全球生物製藥行業深耕二十年,擁有廣泛的經驗和人脈。

數據科學

藉助一支由生物資訊學家、計算生物學家和數據工程師组成的團隊,我們將數據科學融入分析方法。

我們同樣熱衷於幫助客戶促進創新,從而為醫學進步做出貢獻。我們不斷尋求與我們的核心能力相關的創業機會,並願意承擔風險。

我們的價值觀

這些原則塑造了我們的公司,並將繼續影響我們:

因此,我們不斷完善和重塑我們的方法和分析方式,不遺餘力地提供優質的服務,而非自吹自擂、誇誇其談。
Catenion的合作夥伴和顧問不是為了給簡歷鍍金或將在Catenion的工作經歷作為未來前途的墊腳石,而是因為志同道合的熱愛而相聚於此。

認識團隊

道德準則

Catenion十分重視誠信、道德與透明度的重要性。為此,我們希望與所有客戶、供應商與團隊分享我們的《道德準則》。
Catenion Arno Heuermann 2

Arno Heuermann

Arno Heuermann是Catenion的創始合夥人,現居德國柏林。Arno擁有十年的首席執行官和首席運營官經驗。他曾在德國、法國和盧森堡管理多家公司。

在攻讀學位期間,Arno於1994年成立了一家技術工程辦公室。1998年,他繼續他的創業之路,創立了一家專注於農業的DNA診斷公司——Biopsytec GmbH,並在該公司擔任董事總經理超過五年。

1999年,他參與創立了一家專注於DNA甲基化的上市生物技術公司——Epigenomics AG,後來繼續擔任該公司的顧問和公司監事會成員。

2000年8月,Arno精心策劃了Biopsytec控股集團的成立和融資,合併了Genious SA和QTL AG和Biopsytec GmbH。在接下來的三年裡,他負責管理Biopsytec控股集團,然後在2003年幫助推出了Catenion。從那時起,他一直擔任Catenion的首席運營官。

Arno擁有柏林應用科學技術大學的工藝工程文憑學位。此外,Arno還就曾就讀於柏林工業工程與管理商學院。

他在專利管理的各種實踐方面經驗豐富,並創造了許多成功的發明。

Arno Heuermann已經結婚,有兩個孩子。他熱愛古典音樂、鄉村生活和騎馬。

Catenion Matthias Krings

Matthias Krings博士

Matthias Krings是Catenion的創始合夥人。

他曾在國際製藥、生物技術和醫療技術組織從事各種主題的工作。Matthias與客戶合作制定企業和研發戰略,確定新的機會領域,為BD&L和併購定製資產和公司搜索,通過治療擴張實現現有資產價值最大化,並優先考慮研發組合。Matthias 還負責在 Catenion Academy 創建和提供定製的客戶教育計劃。

在2003年共同創立Catenion之前,Matthias曾在美世管理諮詢公司(現奧緯咨詢公司)擔任顧問,後來加入了精品戰略諮詢公司Theron。

Matthias 擁有慕尼克路德維希-馬克西米利安大學的生物學文憑和博士學位。他的博士工作得到了勃林格殷格翰基金會醫學基礎研究基金會的獎學金支援。馬蒂亞斯在人類進化領域做出了重大的科學貢獻,發表在 Krings等人的《細胞1997:尼安德特人的DNA序列和現代人類的起源》中。他的博士生導師斯萬特·帕博(Svante Pääbo)於2022年被授予諾貝爾生理學或醫學 ,“以表彰他對滅絕古人類基因組和人類進化的發現”。

馬蒂亞斯住在慕尼克。他喜歡烹飪、園藝、水上運動和旅行。

Catenion Christian Elze

Christian Elze

Christian Elze 是 Catenion 的創始合夥人,自 2008 年以來一直在日本發展公司業務。他擁有倫敦政治經濟學院的學士學位和哥倫比亞大學的工商管理碩士學位。

自 2024 年 1 月起,Christian 將轉任名譽高級合夥人; 在繼續照顧選定的客戶和項目的同時,他正在減少在公司工作的時間; 他已接受米蘭 Recordati 科學顧問委員會成員和特拉維夫 Pangea Biomed 董事會觀察員的職位。

Christian 在生物醫學創新領域與公司、大學和政府開展合作。在他的工作中,Christian專注於新興技術和轉化研究如何重塑資助機構、投資者、生物製藥公司和學術界在新藥研發中的角色。

除了諮詢工作外,Christian還經常在日本、美國和歐洲的行業會議和大學談論新興技術、醫療改革、定價與補償、生物醫學創新以及轉化研究。

克利斯蒂安能說流利的英語、法語、德語、義大利語、葡萄牙語、俄語和西班牙文,他經常在倫敦和巴西的上帕拉伊索德戈亞斯之間工作

Catenion Markus Thunecke 壓縮

Markus Thunecke博士

Markus撰寫了多篇Catenion評論文章,包括《企業投資組合戰略的風險概況》和《制勝研發戰略的要素》、《重組創新管理(RIM)——如何刺激大型研發組織內的突破性創新》、《重組投資組合管理——識別和實現創新》。他還與人合著了《零基礎研發》(Zero Base R&D)和《前20名日本製藥企業所面臨的挑戰(The Challenge for Japan's Pharmaceutical Top Twenty)》。這些內容都屬於Catenion的「塑造製藥戰略」系列,專注於業內備受矚目的各類問題。

Markus Thunecke 是Catenion的高級創始夥伴,現居德國柏林。Markus於1997年在美世管理諮詢公司開始了他的諮詢職業生涯,之後加入了精品戰略諮詢公司Theron,並於2003年成立了Catenion。

Markus已幫助眾多來自全球製藥和醫療產品行業的客戶取得了競爭優勢。除了戰略工作外,Markus還擅長開發領先的分析工具,並結合組織的發展能力。Markus還參與開發Catenion許多用於投資組合管理和風險評估的專利工具。在最近的專案中,Markus幫助客戶制定和調整其研發戰略,審查其發現和發展組合,並製作促進創新的組織模型。

Markus經常在研發戰略和投資組合管理會議上發表演講。

他擁有海德堡大學的生物化學博士學位,並在學校裡建立了阿爾茨海默病的轉基因動物模型。他還在先靈集團積累了三年的CNS領域研究經驗。

About Us

About Us

Catenion is a management consulting firm devoted to helping pharmaceutical and medical products companies create more innovative and effective strategies and organizations.

We draw on our deep understanding of industry trends and company dynamics to help our clients develop actionable competitive strategies. We also address the cultural impediments to pharmaceutical innovation by helping clients create the organizational climates that foster creativity and medical breakthroughs. At the same time we also greatly improve how our clients assess the value and risk of their project and product portfolios and how they allocate resources.

We work with board directors, CEOs, business unit general managers, heads of R&D, finance, strategy, portfolio management, business development and other executives who want to improve the performance of the organization. We are able to do so because of three differentiators:

Science-Driven Strategy

We focus on science-driven strategy: we answer key questions through comprehensive multidimensional assessments conducted by our team of life science PhDs.

Experience & Relationships

We have two decades of experience and relationships globally across the biopharmaceutical industry.

Data Science

We integrate Data Science in our analyses with a team of bioinformaticians, computational biologists and data engineers.

We are equally passionate about helping our clients boost innovation and thus contributing to medical advances. We are constantly seeking entrepreneurial opportunities related to our core capabilities and are willing to go at risk.

Our Values

A number of principles have shaped, and will continue to shape, our firm:

As a result, we continually perfect and re-invent our approaches and analytical methods, always go the extra mile, and are much better at delivering our services than at selling ourselves.
Catenion partners and consultants are here because they love the work they do — not to build a CV and use their experience as a stepping stone on the path to professional glory.

Meet the Team

Code of Ethics

At Catenion, integrity, ethics and transparency are very important. Therefore, we are proud to share our Code of Ethics with our clients, providers and team.
Catenion Arno Heuermann 2

Arno Heuermann

Arno Heuermann is a founding Partner of Catenion who lives in Berlin, Germany. Arno has ten years of experience as CEO and COO. He has managed companies in Germany, France and Luxemburg.

While working on his degrees, Arno founded a technical engineering office in 1994. He continued to follow the entrepreneurial path in 1998 by founding Biopsytec GmbH, a DNA diagnostics company focused on agriculture, heading the company for more than five years as Managing Director.

In 1999, he co–founded Epigenomics AG, a public biotech company focused on DNA methylation, later remaining as an advisor and member of the firm’s Supervisory Board.

In August 2000, Arno orchestrated the founding and financing of Biopsytec Holding AG, thus merging Genious SA and the QTL AG and Biopsytec GmbH. He managed Biopsytec Holding AG for the next three years before helping launch Catenion in 2003. Since that time, he has been Catenion’s chief operating officer.

Arno holds a diploma degree in process engineering from the Technical University of Applied Sciences in Berlin. In addition, Arno attended the Berlin business school for Industrial Engineering and Management.

He is experienced in the diverse practices of patent management and has made numerous successful inventions.

Arno Heuermann is married and has two children. He is a lover of classical music, country life and horseback riding.

Catenion Matthias Krings

Dr. Matthias Krings

Matthias Krings is a founding Partner of Catenion.

He has worked for international pharma, biotech and medtech organizations on a variety of topics. Matthias works with clients on developing corporate and R&D strategies, identifying new areas of opportunity, tailoring asset and company searches for BD&L and M&A, maximizing the value of existing assets through therapeutic expansion, and prioritizing R&D portfolios. Matthias is also responsible for the creation and delivery of bespoke client education programs in the Catenion Academy.

Before co-founding Catenion in 2003, Matthias was a consultant at Mercer Management Consulting (now Oliver Wyman) and later joined a strategy consulting boutique, Theron.

Matthias holds a diploma and a doctorate degree in Biology from the Ludwig-Maximilians University in Munich. His PhD work was supported by a scholarship from the Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds, Foundation for Basic Research in Medicine. Matthias made significant scientific contributions to the field of human evolution, published in Krings et al., Cell 1997: Neandertal DNA Sequences and the Origin of Modern Humans. His PhD supervisor Svante Pääbo was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2022 “for his discoveries concerning the genomes of extinct hominins and human evolution”.

Matthias lives in Munich. He enjoys cooking, gardening, water sports and traveling.

Catenion Christian Elze

Christian Elze

Christian Elze is a founding partner of Catenion and has been developing the company’s business in Japan since 2008. He holds a BSc from the London School of Economics and an MBA from Columbia University.

As of January 2024, Christian is moving to a role of Senior Partner Emeritus; while continuing to look after selected clients and projects, he is reducing his time spent with the company; he has accepted positions as a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of Recordati in Milan and a Board Observer of Pangea Biomed in Tel Aviv.

Christian is working with companies, universities and governments in the field of biomedical innovation. In his work, Christian is focusing on how emerging technologies and translational research are re-shaping the respective roles of funding agencies, investors, biopharma companies and academia in the research and development of new drugs.

Besides his consulting work, Christian frequently speaks about Emerging Technologies, Healthcare Reform, Pricing & Reimbursement,  Biomedical Innovation, as well as Translational Research at industry conferences and universities in Japan, the US and Europe.

Christian is a fluent speaker of English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish and divides his time between London and Alto Paraiso de Goias in Brazil.

Catenion Markus Thunecke compressed

Dr. Markus Thunecke

Markus has written several Catenion Commentaries including “Risk Profiles of Corporate Portfolio Strategies” as well as “Elements of Winning Strategies in R&D”, “Recombinant Innovation Management (RIM) – How to Stimulate Breakthrough Innovation within Large R&D Organisations”, “Recombinant Portfolio Management – Recognising and Enabling Innovation”. He also co–authored “Zero Base R&D” and “The Challenge for Japan’s Pharmaceutical Top Twenty”. All of them are part of Catenion’s “Shaping Pharmaceutical Strategy” series that focuses on high-profile issues for the industry.

Markus Thunecke is a founding Senior Partner of Catenion who lives in Berlin, Germany. Markus started his consulting career in 1997 at Mercer Management Consulting before joining a strategy consulting boutique, Theron, and setting up Catenion in 2003.

Markus has helped numerous clients around the globe in the pharmaceutical and medical products industries create competitive advantage. In addition to his work on strategy, Markus specialises in developing leading–edge analytical tools and combining them with organisational development capabilities. Markus is the developer of a number of Catenion’s proprietary tools for portfolio management and risk assessment. In recent engagements, Markus has helped clients develop and realign their R&D strategies, review their discovery and development portfolios, and create organisational models that foster innovation.

Markus is a frequent speaker at conferences on R&D strategy and portfolio management.

He holds a PhD in biochemistry from the University of Heidelberg, where he generated transgenic animal models for Alzheimer’s disease. He also has three years of research experience within the CNS field at Schering AG.