Catenion數據科學

Catenion數據科學

數據科學

Catenion的數據科學部門是一支由生物資訊學家、計算生物學家和數據工程師組成的專業團隊,在生命科學研究和諮詢方面擁有多年丰富經驗。我們開發和採用最先進的計算技術,包括機器學習,來解讀海量數據並將其轉化為有價值的知識。通過使用這些方法,我們將數據分析與研發專業知識相結合,以設計最佳的藥物發現和開發策略。

加速和強化

大數據分析已成為生物製藥和生命科學行業不可或缺的一部分。我們的方法涉及將基因組和蛋白質組學數據集與臨床、競爭和市場數據整合到我們的專有知識圖譜中。這種全面視角使我們能夠在以下方面系統地識別和確定優先事項:

藥物靶標

於自訂篩選標準(例如基因治療、小分子藥物、免疫腫瘤學靶標)專門適用於特定藥物模式的新藥靶標

適應症

兼具科學可信度、開發可行性和商業機會的適應症

老藥新用

調整現有藥物(正在開發或停產)與新的適應症、藥物靶標或生物標誌物的最佳匹配

資產

可用於授權許可或收購的隱形寶貴資

公司

收購被低估的公司

我們透過對生物醫學出版物、臨床數據、專利、市場動態等方面進行嚴格的科學深入研究來丰富我們的知識庫。我們融會貫通以科學為導向的方法與客戶的深厚專業知識,創造競爭優勢,而這往往是影響融資、IPO準備、重要合作甚至併購成功的關鍵。

Pexels Anni Roenkae 4175060 縮放

適應症和靶標的識別與分析

高通量技術產生的大量組學數據徹底改變了醫學研究,為了解潛在的疾病機制提供機會。雖然我們在某些方面取得了卓著的進展,然而,儘管明確存在大量未獲滿足的患者需求,許多疾病和靶標的長期研究仍有不足。我們應用數據科學原理匯總和整合異構數據,可以揭示其隱藏的相互作用,填補這些知識空白。憑藉我們全面、動態和自訂的知識圖譜,我們可以識別驅動疾病進展的藥物靶標和未獲滿足的高需求適應症並確定其優先順序,聚焦未開發的治療和商業機會。

Pexels Bruno thethe 1910225 縮放

公司和資產收購

在協助客戶就新藥和醫療產品、專案和技術的投資與撤資決策方面,Catenion擁有長期豐富的經驗。自2003年以來,我們開始根據價值和風險兩個維度對此類機會進行製藥和醫療產品業內的最佳評估。Catenion的數據科學部門透過快速檢索與整合公共和專利數據庫中的大量相關信息,完全根據客戶需求完成客戶自訂的公司和資產篩選。在捕捉最能反映客戶需求和重點考量的參數的同時,Catenion還收集了大量的數據點和排名標準,有助於將可能的選擇空間集中到最有前途的機會上,再由我們經驗豐富的顧問進行審查。

Pexels Pixabay 220072 縮放

投資組合管理

我們採用多種動態建模方法,為客戶設計最合適的投資組合管理和資產收購戰略,這是風險投資公司和大中型製藥公司尤為關注的服務。基於基準(臨床前)開發參數模擬一系列收購、生命週期管理、開發成功和治療重點場景,能夠幫助我們確定所需投資組合產出、戰略契合度和可接受風險水準與可用資源之間的最佳平衡。

Pexels Null Xtract 1173987 縮放

研發生產力

Catenion在分析推動公司成功的因素方面擁有多年豐富經驗。我們的研發排名方法採用基於數據的公正量化方法來衡量研發和併購戰略決策如何轉化為公司當前和未來的績效。我們每年都會發佈這一調查結果,請前往 洞察 頁面了解詳情。

Catenion Arno Heuermann 2

Arno Heuermann

Arno Heuermann是Catenion的創始合夥人,現居德國柏林。Arno擁有十年的首席執行官和首席運營官經驗。他曾在德國、法國和盧森堡管理多家公司。

在攻讀學位期間,Arno於1994年成立了一家技術工程辦公室。1998年,他繼續他的創業之路,創立了一家專注於農業的DNA診斷公司——Biopsytec GmbH,並在該公司擔任董事總經理超過五年。

1999年,他參與創立了一家專注於DNA甲基化的上市生物技術公司——Epigenomics AG,後來繼續擔任該公司的顧問和公司監事會成員。

2000年8月,Arno精心策劃了Biopsytec控股集團的成立和融資,合併了Genious SA和QTL AG和Biopsytec GmbH。在接下來的三年裡,他負責管理Biopsytec控股集團,然後在2003年幫助推出了Catenion。從那時起,他一直擔任Catenion的首席運營官。

Arno擁有柏林應用科學技術大學的工藝工程文憑學位。此外,Arno還就曾就讀於柏林工業工程與管理商學院。

他在專利管理的各種實踐方面經驗豐富,並創造了許多成功的發明。

Arno Heuermann已經結婚,有兩個孩子。他熱愛古典音樂、鄉村生活和騎馬。

Catenion Matthias Krings

Matthias Krings博士

Matthias Krings是Catenion的創始合夥人。

他曾在國際製藥、生物技術和醫療技術組織從事各種主題的工作。Matthias與客戶合作制定企業和研發戰略,確定新的機會領域,為BD&L和併購定製資產和公司搜索,通過治療擴張實現現有資產價值最大化,並優先考慮研發組合。Matthias 還負責在 Catenion Academy 創建和提供定製的客戶教育計劃。

在2003年共同創立Catenion之前,Matthias曾在美世管理諮詢公司(現奧緯咨詢公司)擔任顧問,後來加入了精品戰略諮詢公司Theron。

Matthias 擁有慕尼克路德維希-馬克西米利安大學的生物學文憑和博士學位。他的博士工作得到了勃林格殷格翰基金會醫學基礎研究基金會的獎學金支援。馬蒂亞斯在人類進化領域做出了重大的科學貢獻,發表在 Krings等人的《細胞1997:尼安德特人的DNA序列和現代人類的起源》中。他的博士生導師斯萬特·帕博(Svante Pääbo)於2022年被授予諾貝爾生理學或醫學 ,“以表彰他對滅絕古人類基因組和人類進化的發現”。

馬蒂亞斯住在慕尼克。他喜歡烹飪、園藝、水上運動和旅行。

Catenion Christian Elze

Christian Elze

Christian Elze 是 Catenion 的創始合夥人,自 2008 年以來一直在日本發展公司業務。他擁有倫敦政治經濟學院的學士學位和哥倫比亞大學的工商管理碩士學位。

自 2024 年 1 月起,Christian 將轉任名譽高級合夥人; 在繼續照顧選定的客戶和項目的同時,他正在減少在公司工作的時間; 他已接受米蘭 Recordati 科學顧問委員會成員和特拉維夫 Pangea Biomed 董事會觀察員的職位。

Christian 在生物醫學創新領域與公司、大學和政府開展合作。在他的工作中,Christian專注於新興技術和轉化研究如何重塑資助機構、投資者、生物製藥公司和學術界在新藥研發中的角色。

除了諮詢工作外,Christian還經常在日本、美國和歐洲的行業會議和大學談論新興技術、醫療改革、定價與補償、生物醫學創新以及轉化研究。

克利斯蒂安能說流利的英語、法語、德語、義大利語、葡萄牙語、俄語和西班牙文,他經常在倫敦和巴西的上帕拉伊索德戈亞斯之間工作

Catenion Markus Thunecke 壓縮

Markus Thunecke博士

Markus撰寫了多篇Catenion評論文章,包括《企業投資組合戰略的風險概況》和《制勝研發戰略的要素》、《重組創新管理(RIM)——如何刺激大型研發組織內的突破性創新》、《重組投資組合管理——識別和實現創新》。他還與人合著了《零基礎研發》(Zero Base R&D)和《前20名日本製藥企業所面臨的挑戰(The Challenge for Japan's Pharmaceutical Top Twenty)》。這些內容都屬於Catenion的「塑造製藥戰略」系列,專注於業內備受矚目的各類問題。

Markus Thunecke 是Catenion的高級創始夥伴,現居德國柏林。Markus於1997年在美世管理諮詢公司開始了他的諮詢職業生涯,之後加入了精品戰略諮詢公司Theron,並於2003年成立了Catenion。

Markus已幫助眾多來自全球製藥和醫療產品行業的客戶取得了競爭優勢。除了戰略工作外,Markus還擅長開發領先的分析工具,並結合組織的發展能力。Markus還參與開發Catenion許多用於投資組合管理和風險評估的專利工具。在最近的專案中,Markus幫助客戶制定和調整其研發戰略,審查其發現和發展組合,並製作促進創新的組織模型。

Markus經常在研發戰略和投資組合管理會議上發表演講。

他擁有海德堡大學的生物化學博士學位,並在學校裡建立了阿爾茨海默病的轉基因動物模型。他還在先靈集團積累了三年的CNS領域研究經驗。

Catenion Data Science

Catenion Data Science

Data Science

Catenion’s Data Science Unit is a dedicated team of bioinformaticians, computational biologists and data engineers with many years of experience in life science research and consulting. We develop and employ state-of-the-art computational techniques, including machine learning, to interpret vast amounts of data and transform them into valuable knowledge. By using these methods, we synergize data analytics with R&D expertise to design the best drug discovery and development strategies.

Accelerate and Enhance​

Big data analytics has become an integral part of the biopharma and life sciences industry. Our approach involves integrating genomic & proteomic datasets with clinical, competitive and market data into our proprietary knowledge graph. This holistic perspective enables us to systemically identify and prioritize:

Drug Targets

Novel drug targets specifically suitable for a given drug modality based on customized screening criteria (e.g. gene therapy, small molecules, immuno-oncology targets)

Indications

Indications with the best mix of scientific confidence, development feasibility and commercial opportunity

Repurposing

Optimal matching of existing drugs (in active development or discontinued) with new indications, drug targets or biomarkers

Assets

Hidden gem assets available for licensing or acquisition

Companies

Underappreciated companies to acquire​

We complement our knowledge base with rigorous scientific deep dives covering biomedical publications, clinical data readouts, patents, market dynamics and more. Our science-driven methodology combined with the deep expertise of our clients creates competitive advantage – which often makes the difference in successful fund-raising rounds, IPO readiness, significant partnering and even M&As.

pexels anni roenkae 4175060 scaled

Indication & target identification and prioritization

High-throughput technologies produce vast amounts of omics data which revolutionize medical research and offer the opportunity to understand the underlying disease mechanisms. Despite these advances, many diseases and targets remain chronically understudied even in the face of high unmet patient need. We apply data science principles to aggregate and integrate heterogeneous data revealing hidden interactions that fill these knowledge gaps. With our comprehensive, dynamic and customized knowledge graph, we can identify and prioritize drug targets that drive disease progression and indications with high unmet need, and spotlight unexplored therapeutic and commercial opportunities.

pexels bruno thethe 1910225 scaled

Company & Asset Acquisition

Catenion has a long tradition of assisting clients with investment and divestment decisions on new drug and medical products, projects and technologies. We have conducted a pharmaceutical and medical products industries’ best-in-class assessment of such opportunities along the dimensions of both value and risk since 2003. Catenion’s Data Science Unit performs fully client-customized company and asset screens by rapidly retrieving and integrating relevant information from the many available public and proprietary databases. While capturing the parameters that best reflect our clients’ needs and priorities, Catenion has assembled a large number of data points and ranking criteria that are key to concentrating the available option space to the most promising opportunities, which are then reviewed by our experienced consultants.

pexels pixabay 220072 scaled

Portfolio Management

We employ a variety of dynamical modelling approaches to devise the most suitable portfolio management and asset acquisition strategies for our clients, a service of particular interest to VCs and mid to big-sized pharma. Simulating a range of acquisition, life cycle management, development success and therapeutic focus scenarios based on benchmarked (pre-)clinical development parameters allows us to identify the best balance of desired portfolio output, strategic fit and acceptable level of risk versus available resources.

pexels null xtract 1173987 scaled

R&D productivity

At Catenion we have many years of experience in analyzing the parameters that drive a company’s success. Our R&D ranking methodology provides an unbiased and data-driven quantification of how R&D and M&A strategy decisions translate into current and future company performance. We publish our findings annually which you can find in the Insights section.

Catenion Arno Heuermann 2

Arno Heuermann

Arno Heuermann is a founding Partner of Catenion who lives in Berlin, Germany. Arno has ten years of experience as CEO and COO. He has managed companies in Germany, France and Luxemburg.

While working on his degrees, Arno founded a technical engineering office in 1994. He continued to follow the entrepreneurial path in 1998 by founding Biopsytec GmbH, a DNA diagnostics company focused on agriculture, heading the company for more than five years as Managing Director.

In 1999, he co–founded Epigenomics AG, a public biotech company focused on DNA methylation, later remaining as an advisor and member of the firm’s Supervisory Board.

In August 2000, Arno orchestrated the founding and financing of Biopsytec Holding AG, thus merging Genious SA and the QTL AG and Biopsytec GmbH. He managed Biopsytec Holding AG for the next three years before helping launch Catenion in 2003. Since that time, he has been Catenion’s chief operating officer.

Arno holds a diploma degree in process engineering from the Technical University of Applied Sciences in Berlin. In addition, Arno attended the Berlin business school for Industrial Engineering and Management.

He is experienced in the diverse practices of patent management and has made numerous successful inventions.

Arno Heuermann is married and has two children. He is a lover of classical music, country life and horseback riding.

Catenion Matthias Krings

Dr. Matthias Krings

Matthias Krings is a founding Partner of Catenion.

He has worked for international pharma, biotech and medtech organizations on a variety of topics. Matthias works with clients on developing corporate and R&D strategies, identifying new areas of opportunity, tailoring asset and company searches for BD&L and M&A, maximizing the value of existing assets through therapeutic expansion, and prioritizing R&D portfolios. Matthias is also responsible for the creation and delivery of bespoke client education programs in the Catenion Academy.

Before co-founding Catenion in 2003, Matthias was a consultant at Mercer Management Consulting (now Oliver Wyman) and later joined a strategy consulting boutique, Theron.

Matthias holds a diploma and a doctorate degree in Biology from the Ludwig-Maximilians University in Munich. His PhD work was supported by a scholarship from the Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds, Foundation for Basic Research in Medicine. Matthias made significant scientific contributions to the field of human evolution, published in Krings et al., Cell 1997: Neandertal DNA Sequences and the Origin of Modern Humans. His PhD supervisor Svante Pääbo was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2022 “for his discoveries concerning the genomes of extinct hominins and human evolution”.

Matthias lives in Munich. He enjoys cooking, gardening, water sports and traveling.

Catenion Christian Elze

Christian Elze

Christian Elze is a founding partner of Catenion and has been developing the company’s business in Japan since 2008. He holds a BSc from the London School of Economics and an MBA from Columbia University.

As of January 2024, Christian is moving to a role of Senior Partner Emeritus; while continuing to look after selected clients and projects, he is reducing his time spent with the company; he has accepted positions as a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of Recordati in Milan and a Board Observer of Pangea Biomed in Tel Aviv.

Christian is working with companies, universities and governments in the field of biomedical innovation. In his work, Christian is focusing on how emerging technologies and translational research are re-shaping the respective roles of funding agencies, investors, biopharma companies and academia in the research and development of new drugs.

Besides his consulting work, Christian frequently speaks about Emerging Technologies, Healthcare Reform, Pricing & Reimbursement,  Biomedical Innovation, as well as Translational Research at industry conferences and universities in Japan, the US and Europe.

Christian is a fluent speaker of English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish and divides his time between London and Alto Paraiso de Goias in Brazil.

Catenion Markus Thunecke compressed

Dr. Markus Thunecke

Markus has written several Catenion Commentaries including “Risk Profiles of Corporate Portfolio Strategies” as well as “Elements of Winning Strategies in R&D”, “Recombinant Innovation Management (RIM) – How to Stimulate Breakthrough Innovation within Large R&D Organisations”, “Recombinant Portfolio Management – Recognising and Enabling Innovation”. He also co–authored “Zero Base R&D” and “The Challenge for Japan’s Pharmaceutical Top Twenty”. All of them are part of Catenion’s “Shaping Pharmaceutical Strategy” series that focuses on high-profile issues for the industry.

Markus Thunecke is a founding Senior Partner of Catenion who lives in Berlin, Germany. Markus started his consulting career in 1997 at Mercer Management Consulting before joining a strategy consulting boutique, Theron, and setting up Catenion in 2003.

Markus has helped numerous clients around the globe in the pharmaceutical and medical products industries create competitive advantage. In addition to his work on strategy, Markus specialises in developing leading–edge analytical tools and combining them with organisational development capabilities. Markus is the developer of a number of Catenion’s proprietary tools for portfolio management and risk assessment. In recent engagements, Markus has helped clients develop and realign their R&D strategies, review their discovery and development portfolios, and create organisational models that foster innovation.

Markus is a frequent speaker at conferences on R&D strategy and portfolio management.

He holds a PhD in biochemistry from the University of Heidelberg, where he generated transgenic animal models for Alzheimer’s disease. He also has three years of research experience within the CNS field at Schering AG.